Chennai Rainbow Film Festival

About        Partners        Submission        News        Schedule        Awards        Gallery        Film        Donate        Contact

chennai rainbow lgbt film festival awards

CRFF 2015 – Award Ceremony
IMG-20150610-WA0021 (1)

Award Ceremony – Awards for Media, Film and Art personalities who have supported and/or contributed to LGBT community and its issues.
The award ceremony is presided by Mr. Bhagyaraj – Legendary Director, Film Maker & Actor.

Awards will be presented to

Actor Lawrence
Nelson Xavier ( Sun TV)
Kavin Malar (Writer)
Tejon (Reporter).

And Lifetime achievement award

Ms. Priya Babu – Transgender activist
Mr. Seker – HIV awareness activist

27 June 2015 – Panel Discussion on Society & LGBT Community – building bridges.
Panelists – Anupama (Actress)
– Manushyaputhran (Writer)
– Krish Ashok (Head of Web innovations, TCS)
– Vikranth Prasanna (Gay Rights Activist)
– Vidhya (Mother of a gay son)

27 June 2015 – Award Ceremony – Awards for best LGBT shorts/documentaries
And screening of feature length film

1. Best Short Film (Tamil) Award
2. Best Short/Documentary (International) Award


chennai rainbow film festival - balu mahendran
Chennai Rainbow Film Festival team presents special category of awards for people from Film, Media and art fraternity, who have immensely contributed to the community by highlighting LGBT issues, will be felicitated with a ‘Rainbow Ambassador’ award. The awards will be given away by Mr.Balu Mahendra (Film Director & Cinematographer) to the following personalities:
1.Mr.Sarath Kumar (Actor & Politician)
2.Ms.Vijaya Padma Govindarajan (Film Director)
3.Mr.Gnani Sankaran (Film Critic & Stageplay Director)
4.Ms.Priya Menon (Journalist – Times of India)
5.Ms.Sanobar Sultana (Radio Jockey – Chennai Live FM)
6.Mr.Ashwin Srinivas (Actor)

Awards for best LGBT shorts/documentaries (Cash prizes & Mementos)

The following awards are being given

chennai rainbow lgbt film festival best film awards
1. Cinema Rendezvous Best short film (Tamil)
This award is being presented by Ms. Shailaja Chetlur (Actor & Social Activist) & Ms. Nina Reddy (Executive Director of Savera Group of Hotels & Social activist) both from Chennai International Film Festival
2. Best Short Film/Documentary (National)
3. Best Short Film (Regional)
4. Best Short/Documentary (International)